Town Court - License Suspension
Explanation of License Suspension
New York State Law provides that a New York
State Driver's License, or the privilege to
drive in New York State for out of state
licensees, will be suspended if the licensee
fails to appear in response to a traffic summons
or fails to pay a fine imposed by the Court
after 60 days.
If 60 days have elapsed since your appearance
date or fine due date and you have not appeared
or paid your fine, the Department of Motor
Vehicles is notified and a suspension notice is
sent to you.
If you appear or pay your fine before the
date of suspension on the notice, the Court
notifies the Department of Motor Vehicles and
the suspension does not occur.
If you fail to appear or pay your fine by the
suspension date on the notice, your license is
suspended on that date and you are no longer
legally able to drive in New York State.
After a suspension occurs, you must also pay a $70 scofflaw fee in addition to any fines and surcharges before the suspension will be lifted.
Lifting of a suspension can take up to a
week. Once your suspension is lifted it is your
responsibility to check your driver status with